The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Good Books On The How-Tos Of Calligraphy?

basic beginners books

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 djmaher

djmaher

One who wanders

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 26 April 2017 - 17:39

Hello all,

I'm looking for suggestions for easily available books on Calligraphy.

Specifically, How-To guides, step by step instructions, for the complete beginner.

Most of the books I've come across so far show fantastic examples of beautiful calligraphy, but surprisingly few examples as to how to get started, which is what I'm looking for.

I know there are lots of online resources.They have been helpful, but, I prefer a book that I can sit at the table with, and practice.  That sort of thing.

I'm after a few solid books for starters.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Dave

.....the Heart has it's reasons, which Reason knows nothing of.....

Sponsored Content

#2 Mauricio

Mauricio

Antique

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts

Posted 26 April 2017 - 18:30

Check the "Rare Books" section of the iampeth.com website. They have scanned lots of old books with different types of vintage calligraphy scripts. And several of those books do have several pages showing step by step as to how to learn those scripts, including explanations and pictures of body posture, proper pen holding, arm movement as well as the initial, intermediate and advanced steps to learn those script types.