Cross Ballpoint Case Slipping, Point Won't Extend

Moonshae

Hi all,

I have a ballpoint and pencil set that I got as a gift when I graduated college more than 20 years ago. I didn't use them much then because I felt that they were too nice to use as a day to day pen. Eventually, I decided that was foolish and began using both regularly. Eventually I found my hand cramping from holding such a small barrel, so into my desk they went, and there they sat.

In cleaning out my desk to make room for FP stuff, I came across them again. I've found that either in the meantime, somehow, or while I was still using them and forgot, the case slides when I twist the clip end to extend the tip, so the tip doesn't come out the end of the barrel. I have to slide the case ends together to get the tip to show.

They're engraved and I'm not looking to sell them or anything, but I would like to get the ballpoint in good working order, even if I don't plan to use it. Any advice?

fpn_1497391483__snailbadge.png

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Moonshae

• Chris

• RMN

• ac12

Top Posters In This Topic

AFAIK those systems are friction fit.

After a while the friction can fail, like a tire without profile.

Remove the cap and grab the inner shaft with your fingers and turn. If that works it is indeed the friction between back part and front end of the pen.

I Think Cross gives a lifetime Warranty. Contact them for info where and how to send it.

Be sure to mention that it is engraved and you value the original pen.

D.ick

~

KEEP SAFE, WEAR A MASK, KEEP A DISTANCE.

Freedom exists by virtue of self limitation.

~

AFAIK those systems are friction fit.

After a while the friction can fail, like a tire without profile.

Remove the cap and grab the inner shaft with your fingers and turn. If that works it is indeed the friction between back part and front end of the pen.