Giving Chinese Pens More Respect And A Poll

Maurizio

Which 3 Chinese Pens Would Pay More For If They Were Better Made?  

82 members have voted

1. 1. 1st Choice

2. 2. 2nd Choice

3. 3. 3rd Choice

Some Background

My first experience with a Chinese pen was a disaster. It was a Jinhao x750 that just wouldn't write. I bought it from a Chinese seller via Amazon after reading several glowing reviews here about the pen. When it arrived I really like the size, shape, & heft of the pen - this was before I had even heard of or seen a Jinhao 159. I flushed in with diluted ammonia & then plain water. Put some Pilot Blue ink in it and it wouldn't write. Flushed it again, spread the tines a little with my brass shims, still no good (I'm by no means an expert tinker and wouldn't dare such maneuvers with my precious Pilots or other pens). I wasted several more hours flushing, brushing the feed with a toothbrush, and fiddling with it to no avail; it still wouldn't write. I finally trashed it with contempt swearing off "cheap Chinese pens".

The Brave New World of Chinese Pens

That was about two & a half years ago. An avid reader of the FPN, I started seeing numerous mentions of the Jinhao 159 here. Generally liking big pens, I was intrigued and eventually decided to take another chance on another inexpensive Chinese pen. Not expecting much, I ordered one from another Chinese seller on the Amazon platform for a little less than $4.00. When the pen arrived in its humble plastic bag - no box - I immediately liked the size, shape and weight of the pen, even though it did seem to be to be lathed slightly off center. I flushed it with a more aggressive mix of ammonia and water than I would use for a more expensive pen - roughly 1/3 ammonia in 2/3 water; and then a flush with plain water. This has now become my standard flushing protocol for Chinese pens.