My First Four Fountain Pens - Lamy - Twsbi - Noodler's

btb01

I'm still fairly new to fountain pens, but I've gone a bit pen-crazy the last couple weeks, so I thought I would share some thoughts on the pens (and inks) that I've acquired recently.

To start, here's a photo of my collection so far. It's small, and probably not particularly interesting compared to some of the beautiful pens many of you own, but I'm happy with it.

http://i1106.photobucket.com/albums/h369/btbrwn/IMG_1168.jpg

Lamy Safari - Charcoal - Fine nib

I've actually had this pen for several years. Up until a couple weeks ago, it was my only fountain pen, and I've never had much luck with this pen. It was always scratchy, the ink would skip or dry out while I was writing, etc. So I recently decided to order a new nib for it to see if that made a difference. (Having no experience in adjusting or tweaking nibs, this seems like the easiest route, and it's not like Lamy nibs are expensive.) I stuck with the same size nib, so I could see if it was really the problem or if there was something else that made that pen and I incompatible.

The new nib made a significant difference in the performance of the pen. The ink flow still isn't quite what I'd prefer -- when I write really fast it will sometimes still skip -- but it's much better than it was. In the past, I used this pen with Noodler's Bad Green Gator (which, sadly, I'm not too fond of) and Noodler's #41 Brown. I'm using the #41 Brown in it now, and it does pretty well.

TWSBI Diamond 580 - Clear - Medium nib

This was my second fountain pen, ordered about three weeks ago. I've been using it regularly since, and I'm very happy with it. The flow is so much better and the writing experience so much smoother than the Lamy, even with it's new nib. I love the demonstrator look, and I much prefer the piston filler to a converter.