Still New To Mixing

Charles Skinner

Some of the recipes listed here are really complicated and drawn out. At this time, being a beginner, I need advice on very simple mixes, ---- for example only two colors, perhaps three, to go into the mix. I have make two "keepers," so far. Today, I am wondering how I can make a mixture with black ink as a part of the mix. I have all of the other colors to work with. Any suggestions? C. S.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Charles Skinner

• Sailor Kenshin

• Tas

• mhguda

Top Posters In This Topic

If you are going to mix with black ink, add the black to the other color in VERY small increments. It takes very little black to make big changes.

OH MAN! ----- I have really gotten "messed up" trying to make ink mixtures. I have the names I gave each mix all mixed up. I have a couple of mixes that I have no idea what is in them.

There must be a way to deal with this! I know that I am an old man with failing mental ability. BUT surely this is not "rocket science!'

I have plan, IF I keep trying. Here it is: Work of ONE mix at a time, perhaps only one mix during any given day. Use that ink only for a day or two in my journal. When I am absolutely sure that the mix is one I want to keep, I will "name" it and move on to another try at ink mixing.

I would like to know if any of you have ever had a problem somewhat like this. Am I the only "crazy" pen and ink man out there?

I am somewhat disturbed. It seems like it would be so simple, but the way I started is not simple and it is quickly mixed up and beyond my ability to keep up with it.

Can you cheer me up, just a little!

C. S.

Keep a big bottle to dump out your failures.

Label it ' The Who-Cares Official Ink Dump.' I have actually attained a pretty nice sepia brown and a pretty nice blue-black that way.

My latest ebook.   And not just for Halloween!

My other pen is a Montblanc.