Visconti Brunelleschi Fountain Pens

conscom

I am new to fountain pens and this forum. I can across this pen and was wondering if it is worthwhile as a collector pen (meaning appreciate in value over time) since only 388 will be produced. We recently visited the Duomo in Florence so it does have significance to me. It is very expensive so I didn't want to jump into it! Any comments would be appreciated. THX

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ghost Plane

• Namo

• conscom

• Mulrich

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Most pens, even limited editions don't hold their value over time. But that only matters if you plan to sell it. If you plan to keep and use the pen, diminishing value only has psychological effects. This pen could be an exception but those things are very hard to predict. 388 isn't a huge number but it's also not small.

If you decide the pen holds enough symbolic value for you and you won't be harmed financially by purchasing, go for it. A few years down the road if you decide to sell it you'll still get something back, even if not the full price.

Visconti pens almost always depreciate significantly. The retail is so high, yet they discount so much, it crushes resale. In thr best case you can hope for maybe 60 to 70% of retail and only for hot sellers.

This does not count for very old Visconti pens that sold for not too much and are very scarce like the urushi pens they did around the time they were founded.

If you like the pen and want to use it, get it. IF you think you will make money off it, find a better use for the cash.

If you want less blah, blah, blah and more pictures, follow me on Instagram!