Lefty Flex Nibs?

AD43

I am one myself and I was wondering how to make the line variation come out on the correct strokes, as an over writer I always pull on the opposite stroke so the line fattens on the opposite stroke. Is there anything that I can do?

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• smk

• torstar

• sidthecat

• AD43

I have seen pictures of over-writers forming their letters upside down. This makes the the shade go in the right place as well as keeps their hands out of the ink. I guess it will take some getting used to but it is worth a try - at least to see if it is easier than learning to write under-handed :-)

- Salman

If you are a lefty you don't pay attention to "rules."

Do what comes natural, you may create something new that serves mankind (but not the cookbook.)

• 4 months later...

It looks really stupid but sometimes I hold the pen so that I'm dragging the nib instead of pushing it. It works, but it's something I'd tend to do in private.

• 1 year later...

As a lefty back at pens with nibs coming up on one year -- I can tell you that I have come to several conjectural propositions that are almost keeping me sane. The first is the statement above by torstar --- BUT -- this makes the problem of good looking consistency a problem.

TMeanwhile he second is that searching the net and particularly You-Tube for a "works for me" system, or even hints, is fruitful at times but presents a variety of techniques for lefties that invariably requires rewiring parts of my 77 year old brain to:

1. Place the paper that way and ignore reverse slants

2. Switch back and forth between over and underwriting,

3. Switch hands -- tried on me in grade school and started a stutter before it was dropped.

4. Use methods mirroring the right hand -- physiologicaly impossible at the wrist.

5. Turn the paper 90 degrees and relearn to write alphabet sideways allowing you to drag the pen like a righty.