Sheaffer Ink Safety

Penspaperpaint

So clearly I posted in the wrong forum earlier....so sorry, newbie mistake.

I was gifted what amounts to over 6 gallons of 50s era Sheaffer inks. I'm not particularly a pen enthusiast but I am an art teacher and I do love doing hand lettering and calligraphy units with my older students.

Is this Ink safe to se with them? And would this Ink be unsuitable as a dye for natural fabrics? I'd love to try using it for alternative purposes like a monochromatic watercolor-like project or a Pollack like painting (inking) lesson on raw canvas. Thoughts?

here's a little video montage I out together of all of the inks. So blessed, but also slightly overwhelmed cause it will take forever to use this, even as I share the wealth.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Penspaperpaint

• jar

• Ink Stained Wretch

• ink-syringe

First, it is Parker ink. It should be fine although you may need to add some water. A couple points to remember is that inks from that period often contained some phenol to inhibit mold growth. The concentration is not anything I'd worry about unless you show irritation if you get some on your skin. Assuming you don't drink the ink and do not hav an allergic reaction it should be fine.

But it's still Parker not Sheaffer.

My Website

The image you see is Parker, there is one box of it. There are over 90 boxes of Sheaffer as shown on the video. thanks for the info.

Edited by Penspaperpaint

The image you see is Parker, there is one box of it. There are over 90 boxes of Sheaffer as shown on the video. thanks for the info.

Many of us won't watch videos.

My Website

I think some Sheaffer enthusiasts out there would love to have a bottle of two of this! I would be one of those--this ink should be usable with little problem.

Yeah I would kill for a couple bottles of the skrip and also the Quink.

Looking for a cap for a Sheaffer Touchdown Sentinel Deluxe Fat version