Ello From The Emerald Isle

Epr969

Hi,

Irish born and raised - I've been using fountain pens since I was in secondary (High) School, mainly old cheap Parker's and Sheaffer's.

Got my first "real" Fountain Pen when I started working, a Cross, Classic I believe, in black with gold trim with an XF nib - wrote for years with that using Mont Blanc Turquoise ink (don't think its available anymore). Recently been using it with Diamine Majestic Purple.

I graduated onto a Cross Townsend Black Lacquer with gold M nib which I got from airline miles when I was travelling a lot for business - lovely pen, very smooth nib. I've always only used Cross cartridges (blue) in it - don't ask me why - been using that for the last 10 years or so.

Recent bought my daughter a TWSBI Eco pen as a present (didn't want to spend too much as wasn't sure she'd like FP) and it seems to have kickstarted something in me - find myself looking at more and more pens online.

I've even uncovered an old Parker 25 (in blue trim) fountain pen that my Aunt had given me for my 21st birthday (a few years ago... ahem) - I think I may have used it only once or twice (as I had the Cross). Seems to be between a F and an M nib. Good rinse out and its writing really well with Diamine Turquoise ink.

Took the plunge there recently and bought an Italix Parson's Essential with standard Fine nib from MrPen.co.uk. Wow, what a great pen, solid and glossy appearance, lovely celtic type gold decoration on the cap, clip is firm but excellent in a shirt pocket, lays down a lovely wet line, thicker than the XF Cross and thinner than the M Cross, probably very slightly thinner than the Parker 25. Love this pen - it makes the XF Cross seem miserly with its lovely wet writing - I am seeing slight feathering while using a MoleSkin Evernote notebook.

That's it for now.

Eric.

PS. Also have a Rotring Core here somewhere too - not enamoured with it - not sure why - only used it with ink cartridges - has a nib marker "XL"