Switching Between Inks And Ink Compatibility

3nding

Okay so this is a very broad question and I am sure sure many factors come into play but it is a practical question which I have been asking myself for a while. What is the compatibility between inks and does switching between inks of different brands without flushing the pen cause problems.

Now I know that if I switch colour it is a lot better to flush the pen but my question is more about changing between brands for the "same" colour.

Let's say I have something like a Pilot Metropolitan with a converter loaded with say Waterman Intense Black or Sheaffer Skrip Black and in the middle of a lecture while taking notes, I run out of ink and I take the converter out and pop a Pilot Namiki Black cartridge in there. Could that, depending on the brands of inks used, damage the pen?

PS: If there's already a detailed thread about this, I will gladly look at it. I just wasn't able to find this specific information. I'm still a noob on here. :)

Edited by 3nding

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 3nding

• Arkanabar

• Chrissy

• Noihvo

Theoretically, due to the ph of different inks, one might react with another in the feed. However you'll have a more significant issue with the fact that the remaining residue in the feed will still be there mixing with your new color for a couple pages. You'll be doing a little bit of writing before that clears out and you get the complete new color.

But don't sweat it too much. My whole reason for enjoying fountain pens is the ability to vary my colors frequently.

A broad question with a vague answer: it depends. :P I've not done much ink mixing, least of all those two in particular, but this thread is worth a look through. Chemistry experiments are usually best done in a sample vial so you can see obvious problems rather than in a pen.

Edited by NinthSphere