Group Buy Ranga 3C With Jowo Medium Playing Up.

matteob

I have posted this in the group buy thread but will post this here too. I am really disappointed as this was quite an expensive purchase and everyone here goes on about JoWo but the pen is useless to write wity: really frustrating. I have flushed it and tried different inks but it still intermittently skips on the downward stroke as you can see here. I am not an expert and don't want to mess around with nibs. I will try another ink, this is Noodlers Britannia Blue.

ADDENDUM

Looks like it is the ink as others perform fine. Will check with a loupe once mine arrives. Are JoWos prone to Baby bottom?

http://www.picpaste.com/IMG_0305-2bDLeAP8.JPG

Sorry for link site saying file is too large.

Edited by matteob

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• matteob

• Kelly G

• Noihvo

• woleizihan

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've encountered this on many JOWO nibs and I think it has something to do with one's writing angle. I write at about 60° instead of 45° because I write fast and I could have better control of the pen that way. I also write with the left tine of the nib touching paper more comapred to the right tine. I normally find there's too much tipping material on the sides of the nib so whenyou write a down storke like the ones you have skipping, it's the tipping material on the side touching the paper and the slit in the middle of two tines does not really have contact with the paper and here comes the skipping. What I normally do is to modify the nib according to my writing angle by taking down some tipping material on the sides of the nib so the slit will always have contact with the paper according to my writing angle. It's mlre or less like a left oblique.