Will My Journal Be Important To Folks In The Future?

Charles Skinner

I am a very, very serious journal writer --- since about 1960! Filled many large books. I write every day, often for an hour or so. 95% of my writing has been with real fountain pens. Now, here is a question for you who ALSO are serious journal writers.

Do you really think that your "family" will be interested in reading your journals fifty years from now? When people learn that I am a very serious journal writer, they often say something like ----- "Oh! Your children, and grand children, etc. will be so happy! Your journals will be a real treasure to them!"

I have really thought a lot about this, and I believe that they will have their own problems and cares in life, and will have very little interest in what I did and what I wrote! Even I, very seldom go back and read what I wrote ten years ago!

Journals are interesting if written by a "famous person," but journal of ordinary folks like me, will soon find their way into a "landfill," and the world will go on and on just as if I had never lived. That is just the way things are, ---- and the way things are,---- are likely the way they are supposed to be!

So, SO, SO, I do not write with others in mind! I write only "for myself!" To write is to live, --- and to live is to write! ----- (You can quote me on that! Smile!)

I may have put a post something like this at some point in the past. Don't remember for sure. If I have, excuse me.

Please forgive any mistakes I have made in writing this "post." In my journal, it seems that I am "forever" leaving out words in a sentence! Is it just old age?

So, I would like to have the thoughts of you SERIOUS journal writers.

C. S. (even though I really write a lot, I will never use up all of the inks I have already bought! --- Any of you in that same boat?)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Polanova

• Bluey

• Arkamas

• Charles Skinner