Inks For Fine Nibs

Vespagirl

If this post is out there, please forgive me, but I am somewhat new to the variety of inks in the FP world (my one bottle of black lasting 25 years...) and I would love some input. I am curious what ink colors you al recommend for fine/extra fine Japanese nibs which have and still show their color.

I like darker colors, although not exclusively, but the problem I find is that the smaller nibs put down so little ink, it is hard to appreciate most colors. There is no distinguishing characteristics from lines so thin.

I find myself either with too many inks that look the same or vastly different inks just to make them distinguishable. The latter works, but then I end up with a lot of colors that are not great for everyday use or that just don't suit my needs.

I would love to hear what others have found.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Vespagirl

• Ada

• ac12

• chromantic

I would choose wetter inks from the likes of Noodlers, Diamine, and Iroshizuku. You may like to have a look at some of the reviews here.

https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/index.php/topic/160612-index-of-ink-reviews/

J Herbin's won't work for you as they're on the watery/pale/pastely side, so they're a no no more than any other.

Edited by Bluey

Sailor.

You don't get as much color variation/shading/sheening from finer nibs as from broader nibs. Consider stubbing a fin or medium nib for some line variation and color variation.

Get samples, rather than bottles, until you find something you like.

Edited by cattar

I find this to be a challenge also with some of my favorite inks, the blue-leaning or gray-leaning purples. They seem to need at least a Western fine to look purple, as opposed to blue or gray.