Pilot Custom 743 Stub A Big Disappointment

DNC

I ordered a Pilot Custom 743 with a Stub (SU) nib hoping to receive a fountain pen with good line variation. I am a big fan of Pilot but this pen gives less line variation than their Metropolitan model which is a fraction of the price. I will go as far as to say this pen's line variation is almost undetectable to me. This posting is about my disappointment in this pens line variation so I will not get off the subject, but quite honestly this pen is a disappointment in almost every aspect to me.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• DNC

• Oranges and Apples

• jar

• ac12

Oh, wow, David. I can't believe it. :huh:

Is the problem lack of flex or lack of nib width?

I'm real sorry to hear this; is there anyway you can return or exchange it for a different nibbed pen?

- Anthony

There is a review and writing sample in the thread that OandA linked to.

How does your pen compare?

The Metropolitan does NOT have a stub nib. It is either Medium or Fine ball nib.

At least that is all the selection you had the last time that I looked at the Metropolitan.

Edited by ac12

San Francisco Pen Show - August 28-30, 2020 - Redwood City, California

www.SFPenShow.com

On post #6, there is a written sample, I was wondering if it performs as the poster's nib did.

Thank you for replying to my post. I apologize, but I do not understand your question.

The poster also included more writing samples with comparisons.

https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/topic/202004-pilot-custom-743-su/?p=2578479

https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/topic/202004-pilot-custom-743-su/?p=3699127

Edited by Oranges and Apples

Oh, wow, David. I can't believe it. :huh:

Is the problem lack of flex or lack of nib width?

I'm real sorry to hear this; is there anyway you can return or exchange it for a different nibbed pen?

- Anthony