Jump to content

The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies






Photo

Fpn Server Hosting Upgrades ....


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#21 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,505 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 05 February 2017 - 19:57

This transition must have taken many many hours of thoughtful planning and coordination...

 

Many thanks (and admiration) to WIM and the Admin team responsible for these upgrades.

 

Best Regards to all,

 

Bill

 

Thank you for this, as others said I have realised a faster loading time.

 

Best regards.

 

Good job - thank you   :)

 

Thank you all!

 

it has taken a fair amount of planning indeed, and figuring out what type of server to go for. We also migrated the test sites first, and because it went so well, we decided to migrate the FPN live site this weekend too - would have bene a week later otherwise :).

 

And everything runs a bit faster indeed :).

 

Warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


Sponsored Content

#22 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,505 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 05 February 2017 - 20:04

With the implementation of SSL, will this be website-wide? Or only on specific things like private-messaging? Forgive me for any incompetence I'm not the best with computers :unsure:

 

We will test this first in our test environment. The idea is to make everything encrypted, but we do not know yet whether this is possible. As we do not store any financial information on FPN, all that is really required is to have an encrypted login. PMs are not really a problem with this, they do not need it. Emails from FPN will make use from SSL anyway, once we are done, so if you have encryption on your side, you will receive emails encrypted. This is something you never actually see, as your mailserver and mail reader will take care of this.

 

Google recently was complaining about the fact that their bots could not see any user profiles here, but we refuse to give any bots or guests access to those. Similarly, there are some forums like Chatter which bots and guests have no access to either.

 

HTH, warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#23 virtuoso

virtuoso

    NOS (New Old Stock)

  • Member - Silver

  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 13 February 2017 - 13:46

Hi,

  cannot use site. cannot get pages to move up or down without great effort. not worth going on site at present.

 

             virtuoso aka steve



#24 OCArt

OCArt

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,015 posts
  • Location:San Diego
  • Flag:

Posted 15 February 2017 - 19:19

Problem Accessing FPN from iMac

 

First, thanks to all who maintain and upgrade this marvelous site. However, I have recently had great problems accessing FPN.  I use an iMac and my main browser is Safari.  Safari cannot find the main page http://www.fountainp...work.com/forum/.  If I Google FPN I can link to the forums listed in the Google query but not the main page.  I have, of course, tried reloading the page, clearing the cache and other browsers such as Chrome, and Opera.  I finally got to this forum using Vivaldi browser and Googling "members helping members."

 

If anyone knows how to make the settings on my Mac more FPN friendly I would appreciate the help.  I will follow this thread so that I can get any responses via email.

Thanks!



#25 Ghost Plane

Ghost Plane

    Indescribable

  • FPN Hon. Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,158 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 00:45

You're not alone. Try refreshing the empty page. It reloads for me on refresh.

Sign up for my newsletter


#26 jmccarty3

jmccarty3

    There is no "c" in Sheaffer

  • FPN Supporter - Platinum

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,499 posts
  • Location:Fort Worth, TX
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 02:40

I'm also using an iMac and Safari. No trouble accessing the site, but I'm not getting notification emails, except for a few on new topic posts.


Rationalizing pen and ink purchases since 1967.


#27 praxim

praxim

    On twig

  • FPN Supporter - Rhodium

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,025 posts
  • Location:Not upon the peneplain
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 03:03

The iMac should not matter. Are you using fully current versions of Mac OS and Safari?

I am having no problems with access or notifications on stuff which is up to date.
If you see anything unusual, just enjoy it while you can.

#28 jmccarty3

jmccarty3

    There is no "c" in Sheaffer

  • FPN Supporter - Platinum

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,499 posts
  • Location:Fort Worth, TX
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 03:23

Current model iMac, with OS Sierra and Safari 10.0.3. I know browsers do weird things, but that shouldn't affect email. It doesn't matter whether I use Mail or access my email through the Yahoo web site. I did get a notification of praxim's last post, but it's unusual to get a notification that isn't about a new post or a quote.


Rationalizing pen and ink purchases since 1967.


#29 OCArt

OCArt

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,015 posts
  • Location:San Diego
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 04:09

My ability to access FPN on a Mac seems to go in and out.  Right now, Wednesday evening, I just had to do one refresh and I'm on the site. Had a similar problem last Sunday and could not access on iPad nor iMac, then in the early week it was fine.

 

My email notification came through just fine.  Just reporting data for the cause, I'm sure all will be ironed out in time.

 

Safari 10.0.3, OSX El Capitan


Edited by OCArt, 16 February 2017 - 04:10.


#30 tmenyc

tmenyc

    Tim

  • FPN Supporter - Rhodium

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,092 posts
  • Location:Manhattan

Posted 16 February 2017 - 13:49

no issues on mac, Sierra or iOS.

 

Tim


Current Rotation:

home: MontBlanc 149/Diamine Twilight; 

case: Stiliridio/Aurora Blue/Black; Miller 662/Pelikan Violett

office: Varuna Vishal/(vint) Sheaffer Blue; Delta Fusion 82, also (vnt) Sheaffer blue
pocket: TWSB Vac Mini/Diamine Royal Blue
 
 
 
 
 

see my Pens for Sale and my collection at timsvintagepens.com  


#31 inkstainedruth

inkstainedruth

    Ancient Artifact

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,254 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 19:25

OCArt, I've had the same issues intermittently the last couple of days (reported on another thread). I'm using Sierra 10.12.3 and Safari 10.0.3 on a MacBook Air.   Command-R didn't help.  Clearing the cache helped *some*.   Logging in indirectly via the Google link *only* worked for me yesterday morning (at the car dealership on their free wi-fi) if I clicked on one of the sub-links.  

But because it's intermittent, it may be hard to track.   :(  

Ruth Morrisson aka inkstainedruth


"It's very nice, but frankly, when I signed that list for a P-51, what I had in mind was a fountain pen."

#32 OCArt

OCArt

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,015 posts
  • Location:San Diego
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 20:01

Thanks for the info, Ruth. Today all is working well so maybe it was a transitory thing.



#33 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,505 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 23:16

Actually, it is extremely hard to clear cache, temp files, history and cookies completely with Safari, and almost as hard with Chrome. Because we got a new ip-address, that is however what you may have to try and do.

 

In addition, some recent browser updates may make things more difficult too. There is lately a whole host of "white screens" showing up, i.e., white browser pages, no content iow, framed by the standard browser frame, especially with Safari, FireFox and Chrome, but also with other web browsers, on many site, but especially on WordPress sites and more complex sites (complex web pages), like FPN. Generally, a screen refresh or restart of the browser should fix this, however.

 

HTH, warm regards, Wim


the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#34 praxim

praxim

    On twig

  • FPN Supporter - Rhodium

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,025 posts
  • Location:Not upon the peneplain
  • Flag:

Posted 16 February 2017 - 23:28

I have seen "white screen". I found after leaving one for a little while that it rendered itself; maybe, ten seconds? There was no evidence of a refresh in that process. The display simply appeared. I shall try restarting the iPad, where the problem is more evident, the only really effective way to restart an application on those things.


If you see anything unusual, just enjoy it while you can.

#35 OCArt

OCArt

    Donor Pen

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,015 posts
  • Location:San Diego
  • Flag:

Posted 17 February 2017 - 00:47

Thanks, Wim.  I appreciate your tip.

 

Actually, it is extremely hard to clear cache, temp files, history and cookies completely with Safari, and almost as hard with Chrome. Because we got a new ip-address, that is however what you may have to try and do.

 

In addition, some recent browser updates may make things more difficult too. There is lately a whole host of "white screens" showing up, i.e., white browser pages, no content iow, framed by the standard browser frame, especially with Safari, FireFox and Chrome, but also with other web browsers, on many site, but especially on WordPress sites and more complex sites (complex web pages), like FPN. Generally, a screen refresh or restart of the browser should fix this, however.

 

HTH, warm regards, Wim








Sponsored Content




|