The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Group Buys: How Do They Work?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 lordofnumpties

lordofnumpties

Near Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 25 January 2017 - 12:04

I was dying to get my hands on some Diamine Onyx, Diamine Registrar's ink, and Noodler's Bulletproof Black/Bad Black Moccasin. And I saw the group buy thread that's going on right now. As a newbie, I have a few questions:

1. How does the group by even work? We're all spread out across this huge country. How do we coordinate payment and make sure everyone gets what they need?

2. How are you gonna stop pilferage during shipping? If we send it through India Post, they'll surely nick our stuff. If we pick FedEx etc, it's gonna be pricey.

3. Has anyone tried buying from Amazon (amazon.com, amazon.de, or amazon.fr)?

4. I'm sure some of us travel abroad every now and then. If a few of us could get together, probably we could pay this person to get us ink without paying any duties. Has this been tried?

I'm sorry but I'm new to the party and fairly clueless. I'd be grateful if someone could get me all caught up.

Edited by lordofnumpties, 25 January 2017 - 12:04.

Sponsored Content

#2 matteob

matteob

Extremely Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 26 January 2017 - 14:16