Advice On Potential Purchase? Eternal & Garnet Lizard

Hello!

I popped into Pen Friend in the Burlington Arcade in London today for a quick repair (the collar on my dad's old Sonnet had given up the ghost) and became thoroughly distracted, what with there being 40% off everything as they're closing down on Friday.

My eye was caught by a lovely Swan Eternal in red (which I failed to note the model number of) and Garnet Lizard. Both seem to be in nice condition and write well. Pictures below.

The original label prices are a little steep for my tastes, but the pens are lovely and with the discount it's more tempting. The Eternal is £690 and the Lizard £597.

I'm rather new to pen collecting and was hoping some kind soul on here could tell me if either is a good purchase!

Many thanks. :)

32369653581_658e7dc1a0_b.jpg

32339580272_6312a8df4b_b.jpg

32491193355_26c84c899c_b.jpg

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Greenie

• Cob

• rny

• MarcShiman

Top Posters In This Topic

Both are beautiful pens, but the prices are way too high. I will give you my two cents. You can expect to pay higher prices than my opinion below to get pens that are restored, retail, and in a shop where you can try the pen first. My estimates are ebay prices, so there is always some chance in it for those lower prices.

First, the lizard:

I have a bit of a collection of Swan lizard patterns. They are never inexpensive. Always beautiful. But probably not daily writers. Very prone to splitting.

The single narrow band is a bit of a mystery to me. Mine have double bands (except for some rarer deluxe banding pens).

If it is a 3xx/89 (size 3 nib), retail restored might be closer to $200-$300 (prior to the exchange rate changing so favorably for Americans)

vs a 2xx/89 (number 2 nib) $150 - $200

I have a #3 with an extremely rare banding pattern and paid closer to 300 GBP for that last May.