The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

What Did I Just Buy?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Sheaffer270

Sheaffer270

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 22 January 2017 - 21:41

I just won this pen on ebay a few days ago and was wondering if you all could tell me anything about it, seeing as its my first Esterbrook and I have no knowledge of them whatsoever. I only paid $15 for it, so hopefully I got a good deal. I'll quote the seller's description and include the only pics I have. Any info is appreciated!

"Esterbrook Prototype Limited Production  Fountain Pen. This stunning new pen has never been released to the public . Made from a unique vintage inspired Resin in Vintage

Retro Orange. Features a German Iridium Steel gold plated Hooded Nib and a uses a piston filling system . Esterbrook box included .Very Limited amount of these pens available"

Attached Images

• esterbrook1.JPG
  • esterbrook2.JPG

Sponsored Content

#2 gweimer1

gweimer1

Antique

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,117 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 22 January 2017 - 23:11

I was debating buying that one.  It's one of the "new" Esterbrooks.  They are nothing even close to the old ones.  I have no idea how that one will write, or the quality.  To me, it looks like an old Venus cartridge fill pen.

So, while you may like the pen, you are NOT getting an Esterbrook in the classic sense.  You really want to get something like an Esterbrook J with the Re-New nib.  That will start you on the path to ruin, and love of a true classic working man's pen.

#3 pajaro

pajaro

Amblin along like I had good sense.

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,275 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 23 January 2017 - 00:56