What Esterbrook?

Searcher1970

For my first pen I've decided to go vintage rather than new. They just suit me better. It seems that Esterbrook's are well liked and most don't cost a small fortune. Are there any paticular models I should look for or avoid? I'm a total newbie when it comes to fountain pens.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Searcher1970

• gweimer1

• AL01

• inkstainedruth

A basic "J" model is a good starting point. Study up on the nibs to see what suits you. A NOS 2668 nib will introduce you to Estie nibs at a low price. The 9668 nib is the same basic idea but has tipping and writes better. Study the nibs available and pick one that suits you. Anderson Pens has a good selection and a lot of reference material.

Be forewarned. Esties are addictive.

Dave Campbell
Retired Science Teacher and Active Pen Addict
Every day is a chance to reduce my level of ignorance.

fpn_1425200643__fpn_1425160066__super_pi

I like the J series pens, especially in the "mackerel" colors. There are people here who go "ooh, ahh" over the Icicle bodies, or the Pastels. But for me, those just aren't as attractive.

The more important issue, of course, is the nibs -- the more "exotic" nibs are going to be a lot more expensive -- even just as individual nib units. But you know, my first Estie was a black SJ I found in an antiques mall a few years ago, and it had a 1555 (student grade without any tipping) Gregg Shorthand nib on it -- and for a nib that was the tines folded over to make the point, it wasn't a bad writer. But the nice thing is that they're interchangeable between pens -- I don't have any of the later models, like the Safari, but my understanding is that you can use the same nib units, plus you can also fit Venus and Osmiroid nib units in them.