What Pen Company Do You Recommend?

NathanGrimaud

I'm looking to expand my collection, i'm relatively new to fountain pens and as such, would love to hear recommendations and peoples' experiences with particular makes and models. Also, what companies produce really well-made pens?

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• NathanGrimaud

• tonybelding

• Bluey

• matteob

I think it will always depend on your price range.

For me, as a newish user too - if you want to spend less than $100ish, Lamy, Pilot and Conklin are great brands and then it just depends on what your preferences are - For example, a Conklin Duragraph was my first ever "expensive" looking pen that was made of resin unlike the plastic safari or metal metropolitans.

But since I have been looking at more expensive pens, the brands I have grown to appreciate the most are Visconti, Pilot and Lamy. Again, it depends on what you prefer in a pen and therefore it will guide you to specific brands. For me, I love pilot for their nibs and their reliable name. Same with Lamy, and I love the 2000 piston filler. Then Visconti is a recomended brand for me because I love their designs but not much else - but in the end, these are the brands that speak to me.

If you are looking for "reliable" brands, or brands with trustworthy names, then pretty much almost all the FP brands you come across are great.

The only brands I personally avoid because of really bad experiences with their modern pens is Parker (The sonnet series is beautiful but I had to return 3 pens in a row due to really bad starting issues) and I also avoid Cross for no reason other than I do not like their designs but nothing really wrong with the brand as far as I know

Hope that helps.

I think it will always depend on your price range.