Soaking Vintage Pens In Water

TheRealMikeDr

I'm pretty new to the game but interested in tinkering with vintage pens. I've read that some pens can be damaged by soaking them in water. Curious - what materials should I look for that can be damaged if left exposed to water for too long?

Thanks!

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ron Z

• PaulS

• fountainpagan

• TheRealMikeDr

neither will casein. In fact you shouldn't immerse any pen in water - dry heat only - from a hair dryer preferably.

Edited by PaulS

galalith = casein, it is the same material.

Resin will accept soaking without problem, ebonite, too but not as a routine otherwise the colour will fade.

You can clean celuloïd and galalith with water ( never to let it soak) but you better dry it immediately after, and rapidly.

Generally speaking, to clean a pen you don't necessarily need to put it to soak.

WomenWagePeace

SUPORTER OF http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/100x75q90/631/uh2SgO.jpg

My avatar is a painting by the imense surrealist painter Remedios Varo

thanks for the explanation - is this another of those 'depending on what side of the pond you're standing' words? I get the impression the OP has more than just cleaning in mind, but would agree that unnecessary to soak for cleaning.

Edited by PaulS

Thanks for the quick responses!

Actually I was thinking of soaking (I soak all my new pens (just the nib and a bit of the section) in water when cleaning them prior to storage. I've just recently purchased some restored vintage pens and want to be sure I don't damage them while cleaning (I intend to WRITE with them!) - and secondly I would like to purchase some vintage pens in need of repair to learn on and was thinking that soaking the nib/feed was the first step.

Thanks for educating me on this!