Buttery Smooth Nib For ~300 Usd?

Chasingtheperfectnib

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the fountain pen world but wow has it taken a hold of me! I am looking for my next pen and would really appreciate your feedback. My first pen was a vanishing point and it was a great starting fountain pen for me - practical and a good writer. Then I got the Sailor 1911L and really love its nib - it feels softer and smoother to write with then my VP.

What I like:

I enjoy fine nibs as I write small and am left handed - so I feel that the Japanese nibs really suit me (but I am open to any country/brand). What I am looking for is a fine nib fountain pen that is a joy to write with (ie buttery smooth) in the ~300 USD range. I would prefer a larger pen as I have large hands... I enjoy the writing aspect of fountain pens so I am not fussed about the prestige of a brand or the look of the pen. Thanks in advance for your time and experience! Glad to be a part of this community!!!

Edited by Chasingtheperfectnib

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• sandy101

• Bluey

• Roppleton

Top Posters In This Topic

A Pilot Custom 823 in F or a Pilot Namiki Elabo metal in SEF ( I have it in SEF because, like you, I prefer fine nibs) should do the job. I got them from j-subculture.com in Japan!

I have a Pilot custom 823 in amber medium nib and after the now 3 weeks of daily use all I can do is strongly recommend it!

A 823 is by far my smoothest nib. I got a medium one as japanese nibs write one level lower as usual (a japanese medium is like a western fine).

I also recommend getting one from Japan as they are around 190 usd shipped. Whilst US retailers sell them for 288 usd.

Edited by RubenDh