Advices For Buying A New Fountain Pen

Corsacalimero

Hi all.

I am new to the fountain pen world at the level shown in this forum. Now I am considering buying a new fountain pen and need some advices from this community.

I am an "Italophile" and would really prefer an Italian pen, especially from Florence since I go there every year. So the easy choice would obviously be a Visconti pen. However emotions cannot always rule and I would be disappointed if it would turn out to be a mid-range pen. So my first question is if Visconti makes pens in the high end area. I am not asking for the absolute top end, high end is good enough for me. After all I have a limited amount to spend on it. If not, what other brands would you recommend me to look at, preferably Italian?

The pen I am considering is the Visconti Divina Black which I find very elegant without being too much for daily use.

I do have a Mont Blanc 146 with 14k 585 nib. I am not sure about the nib but I would guess it is medium. How can I find out? I use it as my daily writing instrument. Unfortunately I have cracked the cap and do need to replace the pen with a new one. I haven’t told my wife that I can get a replacement cap though, and I will not either.

Regarding the nib material. Are we referring to the entire piece or just the point? I haven’t figured out if the Visconti Divina Black is equipped with Gold or Palladium nib. It seems that it is a Gold nib with Palladium plating. Is that correct?

Since my reference is Mont Blanc 146 with 14k 585 nib M (probably), which configuration of Visconti DB would be the closest to that pen and how would it differ. I like the MB 146 although I wouldn’t mind if it moved smoother over the paper.

Thank you all I advance.

/Peter

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Corsacalimero

• Bo Bo Olson

• PAKMAN

• jar

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images