Custom Hand Lettering Critique Desired

gryphon1911

Writing with fountain pens and learning calligraphy has spurred some additional creative outlets in me.

I've done a quick/not very thorough search to see if anyone has done something similar to what you see below. I'd guess that someone, somewhere has done something similar, I just have not seen it.

post-127480-0-03659200-1479404086_thumb.jpg

I know it would look better had I used a straight edge and if the triangles were all uniform. This is a first attempt exemplar, so I just hand drew it.

Looking for critiques, no opinion is too harsh or will be rejected. I'm just learning and doing this. If it is junk and I should keep my day job, so be it - let me know! :D lol

So -

1) What is your general overall opinion?

2) Any letter/number arms that could be improved or re-designed?

3) I'm struggling if I should keep this as a majiscule only or try and develop a miniscule to go along with it. Thoughts?

4) I'm considering trying to come up with a punctuation set, but not sure if the typography would necessarily need it.

Thank you to anyone in advance for participating in this thread.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gryphon1911

• Joe in Seattle

• ehemem

• Ergative

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

A touch hard to read, but quite interesting. Keep going!

"how do I know what I think until I write it down?"

A touch hard to read, but quite interesting. Keep going!

Hard to read because it's too busy? Maybe fill in the triangles with some color?