Deciding On Black Ink - Help Needed

NYC_Dweller

Hello everyone,

Please excuse my novice question since I'm new to the wonderful world of fountain pens. Also, please redirect this thread if I'm posting in the incorrect ink section.

I have always been interested in fine writing instruments. I recently purchase a Cross Townsend and I'm researching some black ink options. My writings will be within a journal that will document my baby's developments and jotting down the winding road of being a new dad. Sometime in the far future I would present the journals along with the pens to my little girl as a meaningful gift.

With that said, I am looking for a quality black ink. I know there are some that are more water resistant than others. This may be important to me. You never know if a spill may happen. If that occurs I don't want certain writings to be forever lost.

Upon my research the Pilot Iroshizuku ink keeps popping up. Please let me know you thoughts and recommendations. I'm excited to learn.

Thank you for taking the time.

Regards,

D

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• T4TEXAS

• amberleadavis

• inkstainedruth

• NYC_Dweller

I will suggest a couple of sources for you to research. First, Jetpens.com has a wonderful comparison of black inks here.

Second, you are writing a document that you might want to survive for many generations. There is an ink made to do just that; Ecclesiastical Stationery Supplies Registrars Ink (Iron Gall). You will find many reviews of ESSR on this website but here is a link to one. Click

Edited by OCArt

We Are Our Ancestors’ Wildest Dreams

The Iroshizuku inks are beautiful, indeed, but not water resistant.

"You can't wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club."

- Jack London

http://i729.photobucket.com/albums/ww296/messiah_FPN/Badges/SnailBadge.png