Help To Verify Authenticity Of Mb144

bdchambers

Howdy!

I am very new to fountain pens, and up to this point I have been using a Pilot Metropolitan with a medium nib. I can remember being fascinated with the Montblanc pen and the white peak cap on my pediatrician's pen growing up, and I finally took the plunge and purchased my first two Montblanc pens over the weekend. I purchased a 149 and a burgundy 144 on eBay and received them this afternoon, and I wanted to verify the authenticity of the 144.
From what I understand I do not have to particularly worry about the authenticity of the piston filling 149. However, since the 144 is a cartridge/converter pen it is more likely to be counterfeited.
I was hoping that some of you could help me in determining the authenticity of the 144. Can any of you help me to discern or determine the authenticity of the pen based on the following pictures:
post-132517-0-61113700-1477061579_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-54242300-1477061588_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-22352200-1477061597_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-60867600-1477061614_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-52700400-1477061623_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-81102400-1477061637_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-05831500-1477061652_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-82955800-1477061662_thumb.jpg
post-132517-0-19830600-1477061674_thumb.jpg
Thank you in advance for your help. I have been reading the MB board here for the past few weeks, and it seems like this is a great community you have here!
Best Regards,
Ben

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bdchambers

• PAKMAN

• jar

• Tom Kellie

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

While it is impossible to verify authenticity from photos (often we can verify things that are NOT authentic) I don't see anything in your photos that screams Fake.

My Website

As JAR states, not always possible to tell a fake from pictures but your 144 looks legit to me also, all the right stuff so to speak.

PAKMAN