Newbie Questions About A 149

debwolfe

Total fountain pen newbie here. Although I've had the pen for years now, I only recently got motivated to give my Dad's 70s vintage 149 a good cleaning and fill it with fresh ink. It's working well, but I have a couple of questions.

Is there any way to tell what size the nib is? It makes a thicker line than my husband's Nemosine Fission, which I'm sure has a medium nib. I understand that Japanese nibs tend to be finer for the same rating, so my guess is that it's a medium.

The feed and the nib are not perfectly aligned. The pen seems to be writing just fine, so is this something I should do something about?

Somewhere along the line, the cap that moves the piston has decided to not tighten down against the pen body. This started after I'd cleaned the pen to change inks. I fear that I may have gotten something out of whack during the number of cleaning cycles it took to get the pen working in the first place. Can I live with this, or is it an indication of something bad?

Thanks for your thoughts.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tom Kellie

• debwolfe

• meiers

• jar

Top Posters In This Topic

I think your best option would be to send it to Montblanc for a service. It will cost something like $70 and will come back looking as good as new. The piston should definitely be tightening down against the pen body, so something has gone wrong there. For Montblanc, that will be a simple fix = a complete new piston assembly.

You should ask them to look at the alignment of the nib and feed too. That will be included in the 1st level service.

If yuo can post a picture and a writing sample it will be fairly easy to tell you the nib size. Otherwise they are unmarked and they can vary because they are all hand finished and yours will alos likely have wear.