Pen Similar To Parker 51 Or 21?

Caeruleum

Hello,

I'm relatively new to fountain pens, I've used Lamy Safaris for years when I was in school, but didn't know that much about fountain pens.

Recently I've become more interested in them. Several months ago I was gifted a Waterman Hemisphere and am quite happy with it. Of course it's not the best Pen out there and it's somewhat small for me.

Enough introduction for now.

I like the design of Parker 51, 21 and those pens which look very similar. The hooded nib, the relatively unpretentious design.

I would like to get a similar pen. It doesn't need to have a gold nib, actually a steel nib is what I would prefer die to the affordability. Of course you can get vintage Parker pens on eBay but I'm not really experienced with buying vintage pens. I can't assess how well their conditions is. Another option are pens like the Hero 616, which design-wise are copies but many people complain about their quality. Caps that cratch the barrel each time you use the cap, leaking bladders and so on.

To get to the point: I' like to have a Pen like the Parker 21.

Could you more experienced fountain pen users give me some advice?

Is it possible to get a Parker 21 on eBay for a reasonable price? I mean I don't want to pay as much as I would pay for a really decent new pen.

Are there copies of the Parker 21 or 51 whose quality is good enough to be used for some time without having ink all over your desk?

Or are there maybe other modern pens with a hooded nib (not the Lamy 2000, Vanishing Point or something in this price range)?

I'm looking forward for some tips. Thank you!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Caeruleum

• mitto

• Sailor Kenshin

• Mangrove Jack

I kinda like the Hero 616; I always have one or more loaded (it's three this week), but mine are 'vintage.' They don't leak and are smooth and wet. Still, the new ones are inexpensive enough to get a few and try them.