Pocket Pen - Preppy, Metro, Or Safari?

creeder14

I'm a student, and I usually carry one of my nice pens (I don't actually have any cheap pens - just my grandpa's 51, Snorkel, and my Edison Nouveau Premier) in a leather sleeve in a separate compartment in my backpack. In my pocket, along with my keys and knife (and whatever else makes its way in there) I usually carry a cheap ballpoint or gel pen. Just a Bic or a G2, sometimes a mechanical pencil. I want to carry a fountain pen instead, and I was wondering what you thought would be best for something that I can throw in my pocket and not worry about it breaking. It's between a Preppy, a Metro, or a Safari. It'd just be for times when I need something to write with right away, so a cheap pen with a fine nib and a snap cap is what I want. Would a Preppy work? Can it stand up to the abuse of being smashed around like that? Or should I upgrade to a Metro or a Safari? (I welcome other suggestions)

Thanks!

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TSherbs

• creeder14

• rochester21

• AndyYNWA

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

In my experience Preppy was too fragile, plastic did not crack, but the pen un-capped few times. Slip and seal, which is a wonderful addition by Platinum even on Preppies, lost the function and the ink dried. So - no go for a quick starting pen need.

Metro has a bit heavier brass body (if you don't mind a bit of extra weight), and it got scratches from the pocket neighbours. Test done on 2 hours walk only...

I use now Kaweco Sport as a pocket pen. The cap is a screw on, plastic didn't get scratched and it is a small and light pen.

Hope this helps, welcome to FPN and happy writing!

LETTER EXCHANGE PARTICIPANT

In terms of nibs I would rate the Metro as the best out of that lot, then the Preppy then the Safari.

The Safari has the benefit of possible nib swappage at little cost.