Inks That Pair Real Good

eissante

I'm a biology student, and all my notes involve a bunch of illustrations, diagrams, labels etc. This semester I've been using two LAMYs with some stock standard LAMY blue ink and a bottle of Herbin's Cafe Des Iles. on it's own LAMY blue is boring as hell, I can certainly see a lot of use for it but it's by no means an exiting color. Cafe Des Iles on the other hand is like writing with rich, silty, honest dirt from a healthy creekbed. But I digress.

The two inks play off against each other in a way I simply haven't ever seen before. Neither demands attention from each other, Both keep from being gaudy or overly contrasted, And I really like the look of it.

SO, have any of you stumbled upon a pair of inks that play against each other in that perfect, hard to pinpoint way? what are your favourite pairs of inks?

post-132257-0-11157100-1475767054_thumb.jpg

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tas

• LizEF

• grainweevil

• lgsoltek

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I like to pair GvFC Stone Grey, my default ink for regular notes, and MB William Shakespeare (any other complex dark red would serve the purpose), with which I write keywords and the most important parts. They look together really well. Recently I tried a Lie de The & GvFC Moss Green combo. This is a calmer option for those who like forest trips :)

Can't find the post but someone here paired Ina Ho up with a grey and boy was it gorgeous.

I'll have a better look later.

In the meanwhile. Terracotta / oranges go really well with blues.

Oh, d'you mean this one, Tas? That is effective, and certainly not a combination I would have thought to try.

YES !

Lovely isn't it ?

I'd perhaps choose Lexington Grey over Diamine Grey but I almost bought Ina Ho because of that image. In fact, let me add it to the list . . . :)