Portable Inkwell For College Student

vigilantefridge

This is my first question on this forum, so I don't know if I'm in the right place.

Anyway, I'm a college student that writes exclusively with fountain pens. I prefer piston fillers (my current daily driver is a Reform 1745). Being a student, my budget is very modest, meaning that if I need a portable inkwell, I cannot afford the Visconti Portable Inkwell. Does anybody know of any alternatives, either modern or antique, that could allow me to carry some ink in case I run out?

Preferably, it would be reasonably-priced, sturdy enough to keep in a bag, and have a pretty small form factor. It doesn't need to hold a whole lot of ink, just enough to keep me going if I still need to write a page or two more after my ink runs out. Also, I would actually prefer if it wasn't something really fancy looking. I don't want to draw attention to myself by pulling it out in the middle of class.

Thanks guys!

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• vigilantefridge

• MKeith

• kenshiro

• OCArt

Top Posters In This Topic

You might look here. Nalgene bottles work well for me, And :W2FPN:

http://www.containerstore.com/s?q=nalgene&submit=GO

Edited by MKeith

"Are we at last brought to such humiliating and debasing degradation that we cannot be trusted with arms for our defense? Where is the difference between having our arms in possession and under our direction, and having them under the management of Congress? If our defense be the real object of having those arms, in whose hands can they be trusted with more propriety, or equal safety to us, as in our own hands?" Patrick Henry

Perfect! Inconspicuous and cheap to boot. Are there any downsides to these that I should be aware of? Do they leak at all?

I use these too. Never once had a leak provided the bottle was properly tightened.

On the Hunt For:

1) Atelier Simoni ID Demonstrator Natural Rhodium (As if it existed.)