St Dupont And Caran D'ache

Mastiff

Hi there. I am new to Dupont and currently don't own one. I come from Pelikan/MB/Omas/Nakaya/Visconti background (like most of us I guess)...

I've been intrigued by what I read on this subforum, about the quality and value of these pens and I am thinking about buying one. I don't care for older/vintage models and I am looking into D line/elysee and Lemans (well I do have a C/D limited edition but I never inked it)

One particular observation reading through the past relevant posts was that there appeared to be a distinct preference toward fine/extra fine nibs when it came to ST Dupont amongst our members. Is there any particular reason why? Also if you were to describe the characteristics of standard Dupont and/or C/D nibs what would they be similar to? From my limited experience with other makers, all were firm, with the exception of visconti dreamtouch and omas gold nibs which felt a little 'springy', as with some MB special editions which felt softer. Also would it be possible to view a writing sample comparing different nib sizes- with B included- if anyone is as lucky as to have a varied collection of these wonderful pens?

Thank you and I look forward to learning more about this brand.

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mastiff

• jar

• praxim

• manhha

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi there. I am new to Dupont and currently don't own one. I come from Pelikan/MB/Omas/Nakaya/Visconti background (like most of us I guess)...

I've been intrigued by what I read on this subforum, about the quality and value of these pens and I am thinking about buying one. I don't care for older/vintage models and I am looking into D line/elysee and Lemans (well I do have a C/D limited edition but I never inked it)