Been Lurking...

Rosymomma

Good evening all-

I have been lurking and using the FPN as a resource for a few years. Even registered a couple years back but havn't posted.

I'm still a newb as far as pens go. I fot my first FP about 40 years ago to teach myself calligraphy. As life moved on I didn't have much time for my FP. Finally, as my kiddos are moving toward leaving the nest permanently, I have taken up my love of pens and paper.

I have about half a dozen Lamy Safaris in different limited edition colors that I've purchased over the last 6-7 years (really! Where does time go?). I have a Pelikan m200 with an XXF nib from Richard Binder (~ 5 years old) that is my daily go to pen. I've also managed to pick up an Imperial (Imperial Pen Co.) with a Warrented 14k fine nib (lots of flex) from Greg Minuskin; 1930's black Lady Schaeffer with ring on cap and a Schaeffer Liferime nib (no flex); and finally Waterman's 12 1/2 BHR with Watermans Ideal nib (patent date 1903) with a ver flexible nib. I am attempting to teach myself Spencerian, but still only use my flex nibs for drawing and not writing. Oh, and the Pilot vanishing point that dear hubby got me for my 50th!

I'm a middle school teacher and for the most part only used FPs at work. I do have to purchase my own paper for use at work to be able to use my pens because schools can only afford the cheapest quality paper.

One of my goals for this school year is to participate more here as I practice daily on my penmanship....

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Rosymomma

• jar

• estie1948

• RJH2100

I have been looking into improving my penmanship but have not decided on a specific handwriting program yet, I have heard of spencerian but do not know much about it. Can you tell me why you've chosen spencerian as opposed others such as Zaner-Bloser or Palmer?