Seeking Pen Show Enlightment :-)

Pendel

I have been collecting and using fountain pens since college (say, 30+ years) but have yet to go to a pen show. With Boston Commonwealth show on next weekend, I have been thinking that it may be fun to go, but then started wondering whether this particular smaller venue is mostly about buying vintage pens from the vendors. I am not really looking for anything in particular at the moment, and since the pens I like are usually fairly expensive, over the years I have been fortunate enough to hunt them down on various "for sale" boards at significant discounts. I grind my own nibs well, and do basic tuning and repair for myself and my friends, so that is also not a draw. I have no valuable pens I would like to trade away, but have a few inks I would love to sell, yet I am not sure how that would happen at a show. Of course it would be fun to meet fellow enthusiasts, but apart from that what else goes on at the smaller shows like Boston? Please forgive my ignorance, and enlighten me!

Cheers,

Pendel

:-)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Pendel

• Lloyd

• ac12

• kernando

Top Posters In This Topic

Please do go. I have not been to the Boston show, but it is good to talk to vendors and other fp enthusiasts. There is usually something there for everybody - from new to vintage pens.

Please let us know how it went!

Erick

Using right now:

Visconti Voyager 30 "M" nib running Birmingham Streetcar

Jinhao 9019 "EF" nib running Birmingham Railroad Spike

Pelikan M1000 "F" nib running Birmingham Sugar Kelp

Sailor King of Pens "M" nib running Van Dieman's Heemskerch and Zeehaen

Seeing pens you may not otherwise see, and talking to people that you would not otherwise be able to talk to.

IOW, GO.

San Francisco Pen Show - August 28-30, 2020 - Redwood City, California

www.SFPenShow.com