Japanese Pen For Sketching?

Calabria

Hi -

I'm thinking of ordering the Pilot Custom Heritage 912 with EF nib for sketching (after seeing Leo's review.)

Are there any other pens I should consider? Are there other nibs available for this pen in Japan (not into FA - it's not my style)?

"If you can spend a perfectly useless afternoon in a perfectly useless manner, you have learned how to live."

– Lin Yu-T'ang

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Calabria

• alterego

• Polanova

• jarr

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

hi i'm currently an art student and i mainly use a lamy safari (F), a plat 3776 (SF) and a pilot custom grandee (keyhole clip one in F) for sketching. i find the safari F to be a bit too broad and a bit wet for my most of my sketches and the 3776 SF to be dry and scratchy (depending on paper, which i'll get to in a bit), and has a fine line, which i love, but i seldom use the pen. the pilot custom grandee F, however, makes a line that's between the safari F and 3776 SF. It's not too dry, not too wet, and smooth enough for my paper. I sketch and draw on textured paper and find that the 3776 SF nib catches the paper sometimes and might tear it a bit. this has happened a lot when i used to use textured watercolor paper. if you're using paper like the A4 rhodia ones, then this wont be a problem at all.

as for other pens, i would highly suggest looking at vintage pens. there are very good ones, such as my custom grandee imo, that are available at a very cheap price (got mine for around $47 online) and even comes with a slightly flexible nib for that sweet sweet line variation! :D

these are my 2 cents from personal experience and i hope they helped in some way :)

If you want a flexible nib, look for a vintage pen (and probably see if you can work with a flexible dip nib). If you prefer a stiff nib, a zoom nib might suit you.