Help Me Identify This Pen Please

hariharan

Hi

In a recent visit to one of my trusted pen shops, i bought the below cross pen. this is my second cross pen and i have no knowledge about the models.

The shop owner a kind gentleman sold me this for Rs.4000/- approx $60. He said the original price of this is more than $250. So I bought this. But i have no clue about the model. Its a sleek fountain pen with M gold nib. In the cap is written, "Cross, 20 10 KT Gold filled, Made in USA".

It writes beautifully like silk.

I will be thankful if someone can help me identify the model

post-80706-0-22647500-1472831406_thumb.jpg

post-80706-0-79443400-1472832008_thumb.jpg

post-80706-0-79055500-1472832118_thumb.jpg

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• hariharan

• Jerome Tarshis

• pensuponpens

• gracespens

I am sure others will chime in concerning date of production and so forth, but at least as to the general model, I think you've got a Cross Century (as opposed to the Classic Century (which is slimmer), Century II (wider), Century 2000 (wider still), etc.).

Please see my current classifieds!

Looking for a Cross Century 2000 RB and/or FP in Chrome: http://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/classifieds/item/43765-wtb-cross-century-2000-rollerball-andor-fp-in-chrome/

I think that is a good price. It is obviously a pre-loved pen, there are some scratches on the nib, but yes, that pen must have cost more than 250 USD.

It is gilded, not gold. Gold filled is a thicker layer than gold plated.

It has a 20 micron layer of 10kt gold.

I think the nib is steel.

Cross has made pens in several grades of gold. You can also find 14 and 18 kt gold filled.

I think this is the original Century pen.

Did you get a converter with it?

D.ick

~

KEEP SAFE, WEAR A MASK, KEEP A DISTANCE.

Freedom exists by virtue of self limitation.

~