Aurora 88P Serial Reference?�

IanLWTerry

Hey everyone! I am a complete noobie to the forum, and just entering into the whole pen collecting hobby. I have always had a profound appreciation for writing tools, and have started doing some research into buying my first pen. I have heard esterbrooks are great for starters, but I always like to step it up a notch, and found a Aurora 88P for sale, The serial is 3000000+, any idea on the age? It looks to be in mint condition. Also, pricing-wise, what is a fair price for such a pen? I have seen them going for anywhere between $80-200 USD + shipping.

Thank you for all of your help! And yes I have read the guide here: https://www.fountainpennetwork.com/forum/topic/111001-the-aurora-88-dynasty/

But could not make much sense of it in reference to these supposedly later models.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• IanLWTerry

• jar

• stephanos

• Cryptos

Top Posters In This Topic

If you read the link pages carefully you can make some estimates.

The 88P started in 1958 and ended in 1964, so that's 6 years of production.

Now, depending on how you read the numbers given they either made (for 88Ps only):

1. 3.8 million - based on the assumption of single model sales
  2. 1.3 million - based on the assumption of aggregate sales of 88, 88K and 88P models.

As you have stated a serial number in excess of 3 million it would seem point #1 is more likely.

If you assume even sales across the whole of the production life then your high serial number pen would be from around 1962. Obviously I have no idea of what their sales curves were so I am taking the highly unlikely position of assuming it was flat.

Hope that helps some.

Bear in mind that there are also 88P pens that have no serial numbers. I have one of these, my only Aurora, and picked it up at random on the 'Bay for 50 or 60 Euros as I recall. In general the prices are little up on that, but an 88P is definitely worth it in my mind! :D