How Many Pens Do You Keep Inked At One Time?

Fountainpenfanatic2016

I'm just getting into fountain pens,and was wondering how many pens everyone keeps inked for action at one time.

And also how long can I reasonably keep a pen inked for ?

How often do you use each of your inked pens?

Thanks for your help and information

My current roster:

Twsby diamond 580 eXtra fine nib

Pilot Metropolitan fine nib

Cross Bailey medium nib

Pilot varsity medium nib

• Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jar

• Freddy

• praxim

• inkstainedruth

Usually around 9 lately. Currently 11, down from 12, as of a few hours ago when I cleaned up & put away a P1. All of my inked up pens get used at least every other day. If I find myself not using a pen too much longer than that, I evaluate my need to keep it inked & either put it back into use or clean it up for storage.

How long a pen *should* stay inked depends on the pen. Some pens seal better than others, see more use than others, etc. I've had pens continuously in use since I got them months or years ago, but of course they get refilled & flushed if they're getting a different ink.

On average, 3...with blue, black and red ink...in a 3 pen Visconti case. I flush and refill every Sunday evening. All 3 pens are used on a daily basis.

Parker 51 Aero - Broad Stub

Esterbrook J [2284]

Scriptorium Bespoke Pen - Broad Stub

Three to five, most often three or four. I usually exercise three a day, because they are there.

X

It's about 8-10 right now. Have had nearly double that at times.

Brad

"Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling
"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain