How Do You Saturate A Feed After Installing A Cartridge...?

tinta

I'm quite new to using international cartridges,...in fact, all cartridges.

My first kick at the cartridge can was with Sailor carts. They come with clear instructions that say to plug the cart firmly into the section to break the seal, then squeeze (& pump) the cartridge till some ink starts filling the feed combs under the nib. Then you should be ready to write.

With an international cartridge, you press the cart firmly on the feed's nipple till you feel the little ball (seal) break through, then you firmly seat the cartridge. This is the easy part.

But, how do you saturate the inner comb structure of the feed enough for ink to flow to the nib? :unsure:

I have read some posts that say to squeeze the cart (like what Sailor advises), others say that squeezing a cartridge is not a good practice.

If your pen's section starts out clean & completely dry, what methods do you use to saturate your feed so that you can write?

*Sailor 1911S, Black/gold, 14k. 0.8 mm. stub(JM) *1911S blue "Colours", 14k. H-B "M" BLS (PB)

*2 Sailor 1911S Burgundy/gold: 14k. 0.6 mm. "round-nosed" CI (MM) & 14k. 1.1 mm. CI (JM)

*Sailor Pro-Gear Slim Spec. Ed. "Fire",14k. (factory) "H-B"

*Kaweco SPECIAL FP: 14k. "B",-0.6 mm BLS & 14k."M" 0.4 mm. BLS (PB)

*Kaweco Stainless Steel Lilliput, 14k. "M" -0.7 mm.BLS, (PB)

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• tinta

• milkb0at

• virgilio

• praxim

I use cartridges seldom, so I will be interested in the advice from more experienced users. That said, I usually squeeze the cartridge, as described. Another method I like in theory, although I have yet to try it, is to install the cartridge, then dip the nib in water and scribble until the ink is flowing well. The water encourages the ink to flow by capillary action. I don't fully understand the physics of this, but it works.

David