Pens With The Most Interchangeability?

Noangels

I am new to the fountain pen world and was wondering what pens have the most interchangeability? Which pens can have the nibs and feeds swapped out? I would especially like to test different types of nibs so that I can find out what type works out best for me.

Coming from the rollerball world I am currently looking for something that is extra fine (my .38 G2 Pilot rollerball is still too thick of a line) and writes dry because I use cheap paper (for now).

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanks

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• zwack

• ehemem

• sandy101

• zaddick

Top Posters In This Topic

Vintage Esterbrooks with Renew point nibs... There are a Lot of Esterbrook nibs, plus some others like Osmiroid nibs that you can also use. (Over sixty are listed at http://www.esterbrook.net/nibs.shtml and that is only nibs he can verify as having actually been made)

For more modern pens, the Lamy Safari or Al-star are relatively cheap and have nibs ranging from EF to 1.9mm stub (seven nibs if I remember correctly) that you can swap on to the same feed.

Edited by zwack

Pelikan 200, is like all Pelikans with a screw in nib. The plain steel nibs (@ $27 ea) which are as good as the gold plated ($25-40) are a springy 'true' regular flex; what use to be on many pen companies pens in the '90's and before as regular issue.

There were of course nails and semi-nails also in and before that era.

Today a springy true regular flex is seldom to find.....I don't know anything about Japanese pens.

The modern gold nibs of the Pelikan 400/600 are fat, blobby and semi-nails, so Ham Fisted Ball Point Barbarians don't bend them so easy. That's why I keep saying, 'true' regular flex...in it's not so regular any more, but it was.

The 200/215's nibs are @ 1/2 a size narrower and lay a cleaner line.