Long Lamy Nib Break-In Time

Tedium42

Hey Guys and Gals,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've done a search for break-in periods and read several threads. I have three Lamys: two Safaris and a 2000. All three have EF nibs, and I use converters for the Safaris. It took forever for my first Safari and the 2000 to get to a point where they write smoothly and the ink actually flows well. Now, they are great. I should also note I use Noodler's exclusively, and I'm a lefty.

I bought a new Safari a few months ago, along with some lubricated ink, and figured that maybe I had flow issues before because I was a fountain pen novice. Since it's been some years in-between pen purchases, I thought this would be a lot smoother process now that I'm older and wiser. I was wrong. The new Safari does not flow well at all. I'm having to put too much pressure to get a solid line. I've flushed and switched inks. No Bueno.

So, I went back to the conclusion that I was just FPing wrong. Then my new Karas Kustoms Fountain K EF nib came in a few days ago. It was buttery smooth out of the box with the converter. Then I started thinking that it wasn't me, maybe Lamys are the real culprits.

Has anyone else experienced this with their Lamy pens? Is the Karas Kustoms just a more forgiving pen? Am I doing something wrong? Does it just take time with some pens? Am I being impatient?

Any input would be appreciated. My first two Lamys are fine, but my new one still needs help.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Tedium42

• ac12

• her

• tamiya

Top Posters In This Topic

Maybe the nib is scratchy (tines misaligned, etc.) or just not a good fit for you.

I doubt that there is something like break in time. I have to accustom myself to every new pen, so I change the way I write over some time, but the nib and the pen is the same. But sometimes it is not a good fit. There are pens in my collection with perfect nibs, but they just don't work for me.