L'artisan Pastellier Bouton D'or - Encre Classique

Old_Inkyhand

Hello everyone :)

I have never tried to review anything in my life, but it is time to change it! I haven't found any review of this ink, what inspired me to publish this mini review. I know it's far from perfection, but I am a beginner and my camera is not the best one either :) At least I've tried, I tell myself.

L'Artisan Pastellier Bouton d'Or - Encre Classique line.

(warning - image heavy)

To be honest, I wasn't even aware that such an ink existed when Visvamitra sent me a generous sample of it (thank you!). I knew about the Callifolio line, but Encres Classiques were a big mystery.

This ink is named Bouton d'Or, but shall not be mistaken for J. Herbin's ink with the same name. The latter is much more similar in colour to the flower from which it derives its name - the marsh buttercup. L'Artisan Pastellier's creation is a joyful orange ink, which reminds me of freshly squeezed orange juice or a tangerine. It is a vivid, yellow-leaning shade with no dusty undertones.

buttercup-845348_960_720.jpg

Les boutons d'or - golden buds. Picture free to use from pixabay.com.

It doesn't shade much - especially in my fine nib - the saturation is decent. On Oxford paper it stops smudging after about 9 seconds.

imag11361.jpg?w=2720

I decided to compare it with five other inks - Lie de The and Orange Indien by J. Herbin, Bookbinders Everglades Ratsnake (sample from Vis), Robert Oster Yellow Sunset Signature Ink and Montblanc William Shakespeare Velvet Red. I don't have any pens inked with Everglades Ratsnake and Orange Indien at the moment, so the names of these two inks are written with Kaweco Royal Blue. Pens used from left to right: Waterman Hemisphere new 'F', Parker Frontier 'F', Rotring Esprit retractable 'F' (two times), Sheaffer Targa gold B/BB nib, Waterman Hemisphere old type 'F'. The paper is Oxford A5 lined notebook, made in Spain.