Hi All,

Fountain pen newbie here with some questions on ink.

I am experiencing bleeding on inks that most people do not have bleeding problems with. Specifically, Diamine Majestic Blue, De Atramentis Magenta Violet and Rohrer & Klingner Cassia. I am using a Leuchtturm 1917. I have read different articles about dilution but several ink reviews for these inks do not mention any bleeding problems. I have added a photo of the reverse side of a Majestic Blue list and a ink sample page.

post-131355-0-40590700-1470669483.jpg

When I first started using Noodler's Black, I had problems with "ink transfer" (not sure if there is a term for this). Dried ink on one page A would transfer to another page B (Page A and B are faces of a notebook A|B where | is the spine) when I wrote on the reverse side of page B. A little dilution got rid of this problem but the problem comes back when the ink starts to dry.

post-131355-0-59509400-1470669455.jpg

post-131355-0-83343300-1470669475.jpg

Using ink seems pretty intuitive... Take ink from bottle, put in pen, write. Am I doing this wrong? Why am I having so many problems? Should I be diluting all of these inks?

I know Rhodia paper handles ink better but I would like to find a solution that works with the Leuchtturm -- which should still be able to handle fountain pens!

Thank you!!!

Edited by rr888

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• amberleadavis

• pepsiplease69

• rr888

• Sandy1

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

You are using good quality inks and pretty good paper, you should not be having real problems, diluting the ink is not going to help, make things worse if anything. Are you putting a lot of pressure on the nib perhaps, lighten up on the pressure, and see if you still have an issue.