Just Ordered My First Lamy

HoosierGeek

I'm fairly new to fountain pens - I have a couple of Pilot Metropolitans and a Waterman Kulture. I ordered a Jinhao X750 Shimmering Sands that hasn't yet arrived. I was going to get a TWSBI next...but that Dark Lilac Safari just wouldn't get out of my head.

I'm not kidding. I actually dreamed about it last night. I'm not a fan of purple normally, but something about that pen with the black trim is just stunning.

So today I ordered one in a fine nib, a converter, and Diamine Bilberry (I've been drooling over that ink for awhile) to fill it with. Stalking my mail carrier until it arrives...

So coming from a Pilot Metropolitan F and M nib, and a Waterman Kulture F, what can I expect from my first experience with the iconic Lamy Safari?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• HoosierGeek

• pen10

• darazs

• croccanova

Amazing! You'll love the pen when it arrives, and it really is a lovely color. IF you like the Diamine Bilberry, you might also like the KWZ Gummiberry (the non-Iron Gall version). I have both the IG and the non-IG versions, and the non-IG version is a lovely shade of deep lilac.

HoosierGeek, I was like you. I tried someone's Safari early on and didn't think I could get used to the grip. Then someone gave me one of the Jinhao 599 knockoffs, and I was thinking, okay, maybe I *can* get used to a real Safari after all....

And then... they came out with the purple ones. And I was absolutely done for. Not sure I'd want another one, per se, because I really love my vintage pens. But, there are a few of the older colors of Safaris, that -- assuming the price wasn't completely crazy because of the pens being LE (or discontinued) colors -- that *might* tempt me.