Fountain Pen For College Note-Taking?

as9934

Hey guys! I just graduated from high school and have been looking into some different pens to buy for college in the fall. I would like to step it up a bit from what I used in high school which was pretty much anything that dispensed ink, so I have been looking at some different pens, namely the Uni-Ball Signos and the Pilot Metropolitan. I definitely like the idea of using a fountain pen but for taking notes down fast is it the best option? I have always had absolutely terrible, borderline illegible handwriting so I am looking for some pens to help me print and write more neatly. What do you guys think of my choices, especially considering I am a poor college student? For the pen should I be using a fine, medium or bold tip? Will a fountain pen make my handwriting better? Any other pens you guys would recommend for my stated goals?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Guardy

• ac12

• KBeezie

• NinthSphere

Top Posters In This Topic

Currently i have a Metro and Pelikan M100

I still prefer using my metropolitan for taking notes. the snap cap is more useful for taking quick notes. and also i prefer the firm nib on metropolitan for taking notes. But for sketching i prefer using the pelikan because the nib is more fun to draw with.

For handwriting, i think it depends on your effort to change it. because i use fountain pen and my writing is still horrible.

For nib sizes, it depend on your writing. but i hear one way you could chose your nib size is by writing letter "e." if the hole in the middle is closed up than you should use a finer nib.

1. What kind of budget are we looking at?

2. Depends on what you like, but ink is going to stretch further with a finer point.

3. No pen is going to magically "fix" your handwriting. That's on you, but a nice pen might push you to want to improve your writing.

1. I concur no fountain pen will fix handwriting.