Diy Dextrin - First Attempt

Rednaxela

This is my first attempt at making dextrin from corn starch.

27351267912_d3b17888f1_c.jpg

I wanted to use this for making one of my (Lamy) FP inks a bit more dip pen friendly. Gum arabic is the go-to binder for this, but for some reason I like the idea of making and using dextrin better. However the powder I ended up with left me with a couple of questions.

To see what would happen if I added it to the ink, I first added it to a little bit of water. It immediately formed little clumps that would not dissolve by shaking or stirring, only by crushing. Is this normal? Somehow I had expected it to behave more like sugar in this regard.

Also, the colour of the solution looks pretty dark to me, and I find it hard to call the dry powder 'golden or canary-yellow'. On the other hand, online images do exist of dextrin with more or less the colour of what I made.

This is what it looks like when dissolved in water.

26843255653_342c3d2ea1_c.jpg

27174103500_a1be88def6_c.jpg

Just a tiny bit cloudy to my eye, but no sediments. Is this indeed what it should look like?

All in all I wonder if this is really what I want to put into my FP ink. Anyone who has experience with home-making dextrin? Am I on the right track? Would be most interested in your thoughts!

~ Alexander

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Rednaxela

• amberleadavis

I look forward to hearing what people say. I think this is darn cool.

Fountain pens are my preferred COLOR DELIVERY SYSTEM (in part because crayons melt in Las Vegas).

Create a Ghostly Avatar and I'll send you a letter. Check out some Ink comparisons: The Great PPS Comparison 

Don't know where to start?  Look at the Inky Topics O'day.  Then, see inks sorted by color: Blue Purple Brown Red Green Dark Green Orange Black Pinks Yellows Blue-Blacks Grey/Gray UVInks Turquoise/Teal MURKY