Worst Brands Of 2016

forlornborg

Hello!

I am new to the fountain pen world, so far I've purchased the Pilot Metropolitan and the Lamy Safari, and I was curious to know of any brands I should steer clear away from. Pen brands, ink brands, notebook brands... Any place you've had consistent bad experiences with would be helpful.

Thanks!

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fabri00

• Bluey

• kapanak

• shawndp

Oooh I'm not sure we're allowed to post negative comments here.

But Moleskine has certainly fallen out of favor with me. Can't really say why.

"If you can spend a perfectly useless afternoon in a perfectly useless manner, you have learned how to live."

– Lin Yu-T'ang

You might not get many replies to the question as you've stated it, because disparaging a brand is against the rules of this forum (I believe).

I would suggest rewording your question. If you asked, "What pen or ink brands would be best for a new fountain-pen user to avoid?" then a respondent could steer you away from a pen that is likely to need its nib adjusted or an ink that requires more maintenance than most.

As for paper, you could ask, "What notebooks tend to be unsuitable for use with fountain pens?"

Another important point is that there can be a lot of variation within a brand. Especially when it comes to inks, some brands have extensive offerings including many inks that are easy to use and others that are more challenging.

I can't think of any good way to find out what companies have poor customer service. The best approach is probably to ask the opposite question, "What brands have the best customer service?"

Perhaps if you provide a bit more about what you consider to be ideal in a fountain pen for you, we can steer you clear of some brands.

For example, if you don't like pen feedback, I could say avoid Aurora or Delta.

If you said you want glassy smooth paper, I would steer you towards Clairefontaine/Rhodia and Tomoe River.