Pen Donations?

Hey all,
I don't know if this is the right place for this post... If not, I apologise and will gladly place it elsewhere if someone will direct me.

I am an english teacher in Baltimore. Our finals are coming up, and I have this dream of offering fountain pens as prizes to my students (9th and 11th grade) for Best Essay and Best Overall Grade.

My problem is, I am an english teacher! Next year, with more time to budget, I'll just buy a bunch of Jin Hao 450's and be done with it, but this year there's no time or budget for this, so I'm asking here. I did ask Pilot and a few other manufacturers, but have not heard back yet...

I know that there is a strong desire to see others grow into using Fountain Pens, and I'd LOVE to honor my students for their achievements, so I am putting this out there.

Do you have any fountain pens that you'd feel ok donating to this? I'd like to give away 2 pens per class to 4 classes. I'm only asking if you have pens that are perhaps not seeing much use, and that are affordable. Jin Hao/Duke etc.

I'd love to document which pen from which donor gets awarded to which student, and what the student won it for, if the donors wish to be known, and would post it here.

I hope I'm not being overly forward, as I have benefited greatly in my short time as a member of this forum.

Thoughts?

If you do wish to donate, contact me here or via PM and I'll give you the address of the school itself and clue the ladies in the front office to expect packages!!

Thanks all! Please do let me know if this is in the wrong forum!

David (Papamud)

Edited by Papamud

D. Morreale

www.throttleandtorque.com

"The storm front towered above them and the wind was cool on their sweating faces. They slumped bleary-eyed in their saddles and looked at one another. Shrouded in the black thunderheads the distant lightning glowed mutely like welding seen through foundry smoke. As if repairs were under way at some flawed place in the iron dark of the world.”