Advice On New Pens Please

Hippocratic

Hello everyone!

So I am thinking of buying a new pen, all of these cost the same amount so price is removed from the consideration.

• Lamy 2000 with an extra fine nib. (I assume EF is best as I like asian fine nibs)
  • Platinum #3776 Century Nice. (Fine as it's an asian nib)
  • Waterman Carene. I'm hoping the nib isn't too thick as I can only get medium nibs. :(

To be honest, the main debate is between the top two. I have another asian pen, the TWSBI 580AL which I adore, the fine nib is perfect for my rather tiny handwriting.

My pens are heavy use, I am a student who likes to hand write her notes. Again, I have TINY handwriting so the Pelikan Medium and LAMY medium nibs being far too thick.

I use Diamine ink exclusively at the moment but am planning on buying some J. Herbin ink soon (Possibly along with the order for this pen).

I really love piston filler pens but am happy to use converters, I just prefer the capacity and ease of piston fillers.

This is the pen I will buy FIRST, the one I do not buy will be on the list to be bought next. ;)

I am also happy to take suggesting for other pens I might like.

I know I am getting the Namiki raden pilot VP for my birthday and possibly the Pelikan Souverän M805 Stresemann Anthracite depending on the outcome of my exams in 2 months. I am really excited about both of these.

If anyone has any advice vis a vis the pens above let me know! :D

Edited by Hippocratic

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hippocratic

• sharonspens

• Sandy1

• ac12

Top Posters In This Topic

:W2FPN:

Hi,

My personal pick would be the robust Carene, but I agree that the M nib might be too wide for your hand. I have no idea why you can't acquire a pen with a narrow nib, or have an M nib hand-ground to your desired width. (Cost constraint?)

If you prefer a factory fresh off-the-shelf quite narrow nib, then I reckon Japanese pens are the way to go.