Mabie Todd Swan #6 Nib: Way Too Dry When Not Flexed..way Too Wet When Flexed?

leocch

Hi, I'm fairly new in vintage fountain pens and recently I have bought a vintage Mabie Todd Swan 2060 with a #6 Nib.

It is a lovely pen but it is way too dry when writing normally and way too wet when flexing it.

From what I analysed, the tines are way too close together and as the result, the ink is not flowing along the slit.

I understand that flexible nib are designed to behave this way to limit the ink flow when flexed and it should be written with a bit of force so that the tine spread open and the ink will flow smoothly. But the nib is quite stiff and it is quite hard to keep applying a consistence force for a long period of writing.

To make matters worst, it get really wet when it is just flexing a tiny bit.

Is it possible to adjust the nib so that it write a bit wet when no pressure is applied but not too wet when flexed?

I have tried to spread open the tine but it spring right back to the original position..

I have tried to floss the slit using a small piece of metal sheet..

I have tried to push the feed a bit closer to the tip (It does get a bit wetter, but still not wet enough and it is already so close to the tip...)

There are not too many search result related to adjusting vintage flex nib on google..

It would be great if anyone can point me to the right direction..

post-129684-0-65869400-1462089828_thumb.jpg

Please notice the inconsistency of the ink flow when not flexed.

Paper: Rhodia 80gsm paper

Ink: Parker Quink Black

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• leocch

• Goudy

• ac12

• missuslovett

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images